Frequently Asked Questions
Here are the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions at Johnston County ABC.
Alcoholic Beverage Control.
We accept cash, Visa, Mastercard, & Discover at all locations.
In North Carolina, there are only four (4) accepted forms of identification that you can use to purchase alcoholic beverages. They are:
- A valid driver’s license with the photograph of the person making the purchase.
- A U.S. Military Identification with a photograph of the person making the purchase.
- An official State of North Carolina Identification card with a photograph of the person making the purchase.
- An official passport issued by any nation with a photograph of the person making the purchase.
No. ABC Board policy states that items cannot be exchanged or refunded once the item has left the store.
According to North Carolina General Statutes, a customer may purchase and transport a maximum of eight (8) liters of either fortified wine or spirituous liquor, or a combination of the two, without a purchase-transportation permit. However, a customer may purchase and transport a maximum of forty (40) liters of either fortified wine or spirituous liquor, or a combination of the two, with a purchase-transportation permit. There is no fee for the permit and it is issued by the ABC store at the time of purchase.
In North Carolina, spirituous liquor may be sold only in local ABC stores operated by the local ABC Board.
You must submit a permit application to the North Carolina ABC Commission.
Click here for more information on the permit application process.
Special orders can be placed at any of our nine stores. A form must be completed indicating the product desired, printed name and signature, and a phone number. Special orders can take 6-8 weeks or longer. To view the list of current items and prices in the Special Orders Database, view the Commission’s Special Orders Price List.
Neither! Johnston County ABC employees are employed by the Johnston County ABC Board which is part of the Local Government System. The stores are self-supporting and no tax money is used to pay employees or other expenses to operate ABC stores.
An establishment holding a mixed beverage, brown-bagging or special occasion permits must have an employee who is at least 21 years of age in charge of the licensed premises at all times. Bartenders must be 21 years of age to mix drinks containing spirits. Waiters and waitresses in on-premise establishments who serve or sell alcoholic beverages must be 18 years of age. Minors 16 and 17 years of age may be employed if they do not prepare, sell, serve, or deliver alcoholic beverages at on-premise establishments. Malt beverage, fortified, and unfortified wine permittees shall have an employee who is 18 years of age in charge. Minors may work at off-premise establishments (beer and/or wine) in any capacity, subject to the rules set by the North Carolina Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division.
By law, ABC stores can be open between 9:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and must be closed on Sundays. The local board shall otherwise determine the opening and closing hours of its stores.
All spirituous alcoholic beverages sold by local ABC stores are ordered from the State Warehouse in Raleigh.
Either, use our online form or come by our office at 417 S. Brightleaf Blvd. Smithfield, NC 27577.
No. They pay the same price as any other customer.
As of August 2018, there are 50 county and 11 municipal ABC boards that sell spirituous liquor at retail.
As of August 2018, there are 432 ABC stores in North Carolina.
As of August 2018, Graham is the only “dry” county in North Carolina.
As of August 2018, Graham and Madison’s counties do not have ABC Stores.